Townes Van Zandt
For the Sake of the Song



Originally released in 1968 For The Sake of The Song is a re-issue of Townes' well-known debut album on the greatest format ever to format, 8 Track tape! Produced by Jack Clement (Charley Pride, Chet Atkins, U2, etc.) Townes Van Zandt went on to cement his status as cult icon among gifted song writers such as Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, and Emmylou Harris who eventually recorded their own covers of Townes' songs.

Because music sounds better on tape!


1. For the Sake of the Song
2. Tecumseh Valley
3. Many a Fine Lady
4. (Quicksilver Daydreams of) Maria
5. Waiting 'Round to Die
6. I'll Be There in the Morning
7. Sad Cinderella
8. The Velvet Voices
9. Talkin' Karate Blues
10. All Your Young Servants
11. Sixteen Summers, Fifteen Falls

Release Date: 8/31/2022

Related products